Why We Broke Up Book Review!

f47afeddf768997e2349c09d57d8c383

I have been dying to write this review, because that would mean I finally finished it! This book has been…AHHHHHH!! Yup, that’s the best way I can describe it.

Min Green and Ed Slaterton are breaking up, so Min is writing Ed a letter and giving him a box. Inside the box is why they broke up. Two bottle caps, a movie ticket, a folded note, a box of matches, a protractor, books, a toy truck, a pair of ugly earrings, a comb from a motel room, and every other item collected over the course of a giddy, intimate, heartbreaking relationship. Item after item is illustrated and accounted for, and then the box, like a girlfriend, will be dumped.

The summary grabbed my attention, I mean a teenage girl giving her ex boyfriend all the crap she saved back to him and explains why they broke up. That’s awesome! But that’s not what I got. I thought it would be like “here are the bed sheets from the bed you cheated on me with.” or ” I found a used condom in the trash and we haven’t slept together in over a week, and you can’t say you used it on yourself because why the fuck would you use it on yourself!”

Nope. Min is a teenage girl who falls in love with a the star of the basketball team and all the stuff she’s kept of their relationship. Min loves classic films and has a small group of friends who understand her. Ed, a popular guy who known to have many girlfriends, begins to open up towards Min.  Two bottle caps, movie ticket, a folded note, etc I mean I understand why she kept them I just didn’t see why those were the reasons she broke up with him. Of course, she’s young and everyone remembers their “first love” or “crushes.” When I was in middle school I had a “boyfriend” and he cheated on me, after I found out, through his friends by the way,  I ripped his pictures, threw away anything that reminded me of him while managed to play it cool when I saw him at school.

The thought of this young collecting the memories and replay it and then give it to the guy who hurt her. BIG FREAKIN PLUS! I liked the story, but the reasons behind each item were confusing! Now the ending I saw coming and even if I disliked the reasons, I felt for Min. It took me a while to finish this book, just because some of the things were stupid, the writing was weird but it was beautiful( the overall of the story). To be completely honest, I found out that this book is now in production for adaption, I had to finish it before the movie came out. I’m glad I did! Will I read it again? HELL NO! Is it worth reading? Yes, some might enjoy it and others might not.

This is strictly MY VIEW ON THE SUBJECT.

Overall, good story just really difficult to get through.

4 thoughts on “Why We Broke Up Book Review!

  1. jennypugh says:

    Thanks for posting about Why We Broke Up. I hadn’t heard of it before, but it looks like a great book. I’m heading to Goodreads now to add it to my ever growing list! 🙂

Leave a Reply

