Tomb Raider Game Review!

Thanks to Xbox Gold, this month’s free game was Tomb Raider, of course it’s from 2013 but it’s FREE! Xbox Gold members receive two free games each month, beginning and the end of every month. Not a bad deal!

Now, I’m not a huge Tomb Raider fan, yes I’ve seen both film adaptions featuring Angelina Jolie and although I thought Lara Croft was a strong character then this game made me realize just how BADASS SHE REALLY IS!

This was my first real Tomb Raider game I’ve played, not counting the original from Microsoft, and from the first opening sequence I was hooked.

The game is set on Yamatai, an island in the Dragon’s Triangle off the coast of Japan. Lara is on ship and on her first expedition. The island is known for it’s storms and shipwrecks, her boat is stuck by an ugly storm causing it to crush. Lara awakes and is separated from her group on the mysteries island.

It never ceases to amaze me how game developers can create such realistic video game! The game was filled with action scenes as well as puzzles you had to figure out. Definitely my favorite weapon was her signature crossbow and let me say it’s SICK!!

Lara, trying to stay alive, is on the search for her crew as well as completing her mission in finding everything she can on this mysterious and dangerous island.

One of the things I loved about this game was how you always had better weapons as you progressed in the game. You weren’t stuck with the same weapon every time.

Variety, check!

As for difficulty, well it sure isn’t a piece of cake! Some mission were harder than others but what impressed me was how you were placed in situations were you have to play it smart and not just quick. It wasn’t were you waster your entire ammo to kill 3 guys. Each weapon had special usage and play it correctly, one shot takes about a dozen!

One thing I wish it did have was more character development. Although, it’s not meant to have just depth as The Walking Dead or other games were you play each episode. It’s shown in flashbacks how she’s close to her crew, yet you don’t really feel that way. Though you still root for her to find them, it wasn’t heartbreaking when she had to watch some of her friends die.

Tomb Raider is still worth to play! I can definitely say I’m a Tomb Raider fan, because she kicks some major ass! I’m eager to play the sequel “Rise of the Tomb Raider” which will be released in the holidays of this year.

Have guys played it? If so comment below and let me know!

Leave a Reply

