Black Widow: The Finely Woven Thread Comic Book Review!

Black Widow, or Natasha Romanoff, was a character I was immediately fascinated in since her first appearance in Iron Man 2. I was eager to know more about her and when Winter Soldier came along, her very short and dark backstory, added to my curiosity.

It wasn’t until I went to Comic last year when I heard Margaret Stohl was teaming up with Marvel for Black Widow, that I found out about the comic by Nathan Edmondson. Little behind since the comics have been around since 2014.

Even though I’ve been wanting to get my hands on Margaret’s Stohl’s  version on her story, I wanted to read the comic first. Although, they have no connection and completely different, I assume, I was just drawn to the comic first.

Natasha aka Black Widow, works better alone, even though she tends to help S.H.I.E.L.D. her work leads her to hide her past. It’s revealed her past is beyond dark, with the death of her parents…by her hands. Not much else is say. Her constant look on life is no home, no attachment, no distractions, no life other than survival.

I’m sure each comic goes deeper into her tragic past and how she ended up being one of the world’s badass agents. What I found most interesting was how she described herself as “cold-hearted” and you do see her act that way until she tries to help a woman from her abusive boyfriend and/or husband that proves otherwise.

Black Widow is just an intriguing character because she has no powers, or special weaponry, but her fighting skills, intelligence, and wit. You see how good she is on her job but you see the turmoil and the affects it has on her.

I can’t wait to read more about her in Edmondson’s and Stohl’s take on her story.

Leave a Reply

