Rush By Maya Banks (Book Review)

I have to come to terms with the realization that I’ve met the quota.  

Image result for rush by maya banks

Gabe is a successful man and a very wealthy man at that. Having his own company along side his two best friends, he had it all. Except a woman he’s been lusting for that just so happens to be his partner’s/ best friend’s little sister.

Mia has had a crush on Gabe for as long as she could remember. With him being 14 years older than her and her brother’s best friend, she believed that he was nothing more than a fantasy to be had.

When she arrives to surprise her brother at a party, their attraction sparks. Gabe suddenly realizes that he must have her. Gabe offers her a job along with a contract for other activities. Sex, it’s sex if you didn’t get it. Gabe has been burnt once and has guarded his heart to appear like he doesn’t have one. Mia wanting to be with a man she’s been in love with for years has been given the opportunity but with the risk of heart break.

I’ve now had my share of erotic reads, clearly since I love Fifty Shades, but I have yet to enjoyed it since then. They all seem like…well sex reads. Yes I know that is what erotica book are for. Hear me out! When reading Fifty I saw it as a love story. NOT HERE FOR DEBATES! Maybe it was because I had never read anything like it before, either way since then all other books “similar to it” such hasn’t sit well with me. I’ve read others that were intense AF and that just has it’s own category but they all seemed bland to me now.

I took a break from it but decided to give it another go. By now you should have figured out how that went. It wasn’t horrible or even bad. It was just the same as all the rest. I wasn’t invested with the characters and didn’t feel the love they were describing. As I was reading I just wanted it to end and that my friends is something I don’t like feeling. I want to travel inside the story and it never end.

This has received great reviews and it don’t shock because again it wasn’t horrible or bad. I just believe I’ve burnt out the erotic genre. A few months wasn’t enough of a break and I might end up reading the rest of this series later on who knows. When I recommend books I make sure that they understand that because I love one book or not so much, that is my opinion on it and it shouldn’t stop them from reading it for themselves.

“No two persons ever read the same book.”- Edmund Wilson

Leave a Reply

