Fallen Movie Review

It confuses me why studios immediately go for the big screen instead of the small one. They all think it’s going to be as big as Twilight or The Hunger Games.

Image result for fallen 2016 poster

I haven’t read this series but back in 2014 there was an announcement of an adaption ready to be released. It’s 2017! Not having read the books I was still eager to see another franchise grow as Twilight and The Hungers Games had. Although I wanted them to be successful, I don’t understand why they don’t go for a tv series. We’ve seen book adaptions succeed on the small screen, like Game of Thrones, True Blood, Pretty Little Liars, Vampire Diaries etc. Either way we get either another shitty movie, potential one, or a guilty pleasure that one has heard of.

Luce (Addison Timlin) is sent to a private school in the middle of nowhere, where they have a special floor for people of mental illness. Luce is a resident on that floor. She sees images or visions of smoke, then learn that when she sees them something bad happens.

Image result for fallen 2016 movie stills

In her class she finds herself drawn to Daniel (Jeremy Irvine) a quite and distant guy. Luce, though he tries his best to avoid her, begins to have visions of them together in different eras. It reminded me of Twilight with all the eye fuckery they would do.

Image result for fallen 2016 movie stills

We can’t have a teen romance without a threesome, I mean triangle. Daniel continues to ignore Luce and Cam (Harrison Gilbertson) swoops in. Cam is the bad boy of the school and it becomes clear that he’s very much interested in Luce. In this type of genre I usually wait to watch until I have read atleast one of the books. It was surprisingly refreshing to watch something I didn’t know what was going to happen. So it was shocking to me that I was taken more by Cam then with Daniel. It was fun trying to figure out who wanted her love and who wanted the booty. THEY’RE ALL TEENS PEOPLE!

Related image

Shit starts to hit the fan, because something always has too, when Luce begins to see the smoke. A smoke that had killed a person in front of her and caused people in believing she was crazy. With her only friend Penn (Lola Kirke) they begin to investigate when she learns about herself that can’t possibly be true. Yeah, trying not to spoil it, in case you do see it.

Related image

It’s super cheesy, come on it’s a teen movie! The director does a lot of slow-mo’s that shouldn’t really be done. One or two, maybe even three, but constantly having them makes the more even more ridiculous and you really don’t want to add more to it. The effects should be good but there are some scenes where they should have just cut them all together. It sounds like I’m hating on this movie but I didn’t hate it and I actually enjoyed it. It was great not knowing who was bad or good, where the story was going to lead, or which guy was more bone-able, you know the important questions.

Image result for fallen 2016 movie stills

I don’t think it will be nearly as successful as Twilight or The Hunger Games were but with improvements and a lot of promotion for it, it could make a good amount of money. It has the fans for it. The cast was good! They managed to hire solid actors and that’s a major high five within itself. It made me want to read the books and that a good well done on that department.

Fallen is only available in certain countries but will be available in September 1, 2017 in the US. What I found shocking is that a sequel is already in works, I just hope they don’t take 3 more years for it to be released.

Overall it’s a movie for a fanbase that love the series! As a person who hasn’t read them I didn’t hate it. I want it to continue and succeed, with improvements. If you were the ones that hated Twilight, then this is not for you.